Hertfordshire County Council's oversubscription criteria for secondary and upper community coeducational schools for 2019/20

Section 324 of the Education Act 1996 requires the governing bodies of all maintained schools to admit a child with a statement of special educational needs that names their school. Schools must also admit children with an EHC (Education, Health and Care) Plan that names the school.

If there are fewer applications than places available at a school all applicants will be admitted. If there are more applications than places available, the criteria outlined below will be used to prioritise applications.

Oversubscription criteria

Rule 1: Children looked after and children who were previously looked after, but ceased to be so because they were adopted (or became subject to a child arrangements order or a special guardianship order)*.

Rule 2: Medical or Social

Children for whom it can be demonstrated that they have a particular medical or social need to go to the school*.

A panel of officers will determine whether the evidence provided is sufficiently compelling to meet the requirements for this rule. The evidence must relate specifically to the school applied for under Rule 2 and must clearly demonstrate why it is the only school that can meet the child's needs.

Rule 3: Sibling

Children who have a sibling at the school at the time of application, unless the sibling is in the last year of the normal age-range of the school*.

Note: the 'normal age range' is the designated range for which the school provides, for example Years 7 to 11 in an 11-16 secondary school, Years 7 to 13 in an 11-18 school.

- **Rule 4:** Children who live in the priority area for whom it is their nearest* Hertfordshire maintained school or academy that is non-faith, co-educational and non-partially selective. Note: Non-partially selective means that the school does not offer any places based on academic ability.
- Rule 5: Children who live in the priority area who live nearest to the school.
- **Rule 6:** Children living outside the priority area on the basis of distance, with those living nearest to the school given priority.

These rules are applied in the order they are printed above. If more children qualify under a particular rule than there are places available, a tiebreak will be used by applying the next rule to those children.

Tie break

When there is a need for a tie break where two different addresses are the same distance from a school, in the case of a block of flats for example, the lower door number will be deemed nearest as logically this will be on the ground floor and therefore closer. If there are two identical addresses of separate applicants, the tie break will be random. Every child entered onto the HCC admissions database has an individual random number assigned, between 1 and 1 million, against each preference school. When there is a need for a final tie break the random number is used to allocate the place, with the lowest number given priority.

^{*}Please see the 'Explanatory notes and definitions 2019/20 document for a full

explanation/definition.

Continuing Interest

After places have been offered, Hertfordshire County Council will maintain a continuing interest (waiting) list for all community and voluntary controlled schools. A child's position on a CI list will be determined by the admission criteria outlined above and a child's place on the list can change as other children join or leave it. The county council will contact parents/carers if a vacancy becomes available and it can be offered to a child. Continuing interest lists will be maintained for every year group until the summer term (date to be specified and confirmed to parents at the time of allocation). To retain a CI application after this time, parents must make an In Year application.

Fair Access

Community and voluntary controlled schools will admit children under the Fair Access Protocol before those on continuing interest, and over the Published Admission Number (PAN) if required.

Priority Areas

The coeducational priority areas in the admission rules are based on the following towns, parishes/unparished areas. These apply to Rules 4 and 5. Academies and foundation schools (agreed or proposed) that will be retaining the county county's priority areas as part of their admission arrangements for 2019/20 have been included for information but are marked with an asterisk*

	Priority Area	Towns/Parishes/Unparishedareas	Schools
1	Hitchin	Hexton, Hitchin, Holwell, Ickleford, Langley, Lilley, Offley, Pirton, Preston, St. Ippolyts, Wymondley.	The Priory *
2	Letchworth Garden City	Letchworth.	Fearnhill*, The Highfield*
3	Baldock and surrounding villages	Ashwell, Baldock, Bygrave, Caldecote, Clothall, Edworth, Hinxworth, Newnham, Radwell, Rushden, Sandon, Wallington, Weston.	The Knights Templar*
4	Buntingford, Puckeridge and Royston	Anstey, Ardeley, Aspenden, Barkway, Barley, Braughing, Brent Pelham, Buckland, Buntingford, Cottered, Great Munden, Hormead, Kelshall, Meesden, Nuthampstead, Reed, Royston, Standon, Therfield, Westmill, Wyddial.	The Meridian*
5	Stevenage	Aston, Benington, Datchworth, Graveley, Great Ashby, Knebworth, Stevenage, Walkern.	The Barclay, Barnwell*, Marriotts, The Nobel*, Thomas Alleyne*
6	Hemel Hempstead, Kings Langley, Berkhamstead, Tring, Garston, Watford, Chorleywood and Rickmansworth	Abbots Langley, Aldbury, Berkhamsted, Bovingdon, Chipperfield, Chorleywood, Croxley Green, Flaunden, Great Gaddesden, Hemel Hempstead, Kings Langley, Little Gaddesden, Maple Cross, Nash Mills, Nettleden with Potten End, Northchurch, Rickmansworth, Sarratt, Tring, Tring Rural, Watford, Wigginton.	Adeyfield*, Ashlyns*, The Astley Cooper*, The Cavendish, The Hemel Hempstead, Longdean*, Kings Langley*, Westfield*
7	Harpenden and St. Albans	Ayot St. Lawrence, Colney Heath, Flamstead, Harpenden, Harpenden Rural, Kimpton, King's Walden, London Colney, Markyate, Redbourn, Ridge, Sandridge, St. Michael, St. Pauls Walden, St. Stephens, St. Albans, Shenley, Wheathampstead.	Beaumont*, Roundwood Park*, Samuel Ryder*, Sir John Lawes*, Katherine Warington

	Priority Area	Towns/Parishes/Unparishedareas	Schools
8	Welwyn Garden City, Hatfield, Potters Bar and Brookmans Park	Ayot St. Peter, Codicote, Essendon, Hatfield, North Mymms, Potters Bar, South Mymms, Welwyn Garden City, Welwyn, Woolmer Green.	Monks Walk*, Onslow St. Audreys*, Sir Frederic Osborn*, Stanborough*
9	Ware and Hertford	Bayford, Bengeo Rural, Bramfield, Brickendon Liberty, Great Amwell, Hertford, HertfordHeath, Hertingfordbury, Hunsdon, Little Berkhamsted, Little Munden, Sacombe, StansteadSt. Margarets, Stapleford, Tewin, Thundridge, Ware, Wareside, Watton-at-Stone, Widford.	Chauncy*, Simon Balle*
10	Bishop's Stortford and Sawbridgeworth	Albury, Birchanger, Bishop's Stortford, Eastwick, Elsenham, Furneux Pelham, Gilston, Great Hallingbury, High Wych, Little Hadham, Little Hallingbury, Much Hadham, Sawbridgeworth, Sheering, Stocking Pelham, Thorley.	
11	Borehamwood, Bushey and Watford Rural	Aldenham, Bushey, Elstree, Borehamwood, Watford Rural.	
12	Hoddesdon, Broxbourne, Turnford and Cheshunt	Broxbourne, Cheshunt, Hoddesdon, Nazeing, Northaw & Cuffley, Stanstead Abbots, Waltham Cross.	Robert Barclay*, Haileybury Turnford*, Goffs- Churchgate*